Oswegoland Heritage Association

May 2020 OHA Meeting

With the Museum closed by executive order, the Oswegoland Heritage Association will hold their annual meeting at 7 p.m. at the Oswego Township Office, 99 Boulder Hill Pass (Hillstone Road at Boulder Hill Pass) instead of the traditional location of the Little White School Museum. We look forward to the opening of the Little White School Museum as soon as the order concerning the pandemic is lifted.


When the Oswego School District announced plans to sell the historic Little White School in 1975, a grassroots group of local citizens established the Oswegoland Heritage Association in 1976 with the goal of saving and restoring the building and opening a community museum and archives in it. The Heritage Association is a 501(c)3 non profit organization.

Restoration work on the building continued from 1977-2002 using a combination of volunteer labor, donations, and financial assistance from the Oswegoland Park District.

Today, the Little White School Museum is a model of a private/public partnership. While the Oswegoland Heritage Association is responsible for overseeing any remaining restoration projects and for maintaining and preserving the artifact and archival collections, the Oswegoland Park District owns and maintains the building, provides logistical support, and provides personnel to maintain the museum’s seven days a week schedule.


The mission of the Oswegoland Heritage Association is to collect, preserve, and interpret the cultural history of the geographical area defined by the boundaries of School District 308.

Board of Directors

The Oswegoland Heritage Association is governed by a nine-member board of directors. They meet regularly on the last Thursday of each month at 7:30pm at the museum. Three directors are elected for three-year terms during each year’s annual meeting, held on the last Thursday of May.

Current Board

  • Judy Wheeler, President
  • Mary Church, Secretary
  • Jean Kent, Treasurer
  • Roger Matile, Museum Director
  • Tina Beaird
  • Ted Clauser
  • Ken Holmstrom
  • Brian LeClercq
  • Fred Mitchell


Interested in becoming an Oswegoland Heritage Association member? Click Here


2020 April OHA Newsletter